Zimbabwe President Robert Mugabe axes seven more ministers


Seven more parliamentarians have been axed from the cabinet as the clean up process in government continues.

In a statement, the Chief Secretary to the President and Cabinet, Dr Misheck Sibanda says President Robert Mugabe has relieved the seven of their duties and functions with immediate effect as it had become apparent that their conduct and performance were below the expected standard and outcome.

Zimbabwe President Mugabe

They comprise Minister of State for Presidential Affairs Flora Bhuka.

Minister of State in the Vice President’s Office Sylvester Nguni.

Deputy Minister of Health and Child Care Dr Paul Chimedza.

Deputy Minister of Public Service, Labour and Social Services Tongai Muzenda.

Deputy Minister of Lands and Rural Resettlement, Tendai Savanhu.

Deputy Minister of Transport and Infrastructural Development, Petronella Kagonye and Deputy Minister of Justice, Legal and Parliamentary Affairs, Fortune Chasi.

This brings to 16 the number of legislators who have been fired from their cabinet and government posts, including Dr Joice Mujuru from the position of vice president.

Dr Sibanda says the dismissal of the ministers and deputy ministers has been carried out in terms of Section 108 Sub-section 1(a) of the constitution.

Dr Mujuru and her group of supporters were dropped from the party after failing to secure central committee seats following their implication in a plot to illegally and unconstitutionally oust Mugabe from power.

Analysts say the changes to the cabinet are now being effected to reflect the prevailing situation in the party.

Source: Zbc